Durham County Senior Men’s Championship ended by a strong Leicestershire side

Durham County Senior Men’s Championship ended by a strong Leicestershire side


Durham Senior Men County Campaign hopes holted by a strong Leicestershire side in a 55-14 loss.

Pictured: Team after Cumbria victory


After two convincing victories, Durham were in a fight for Twickenham glory as they travelled down to Oldham RFC on Saturday.

Durham opened their campaign welcoming Cumbria to Hartlepool Rovers and running in a 62-5 victory for local spectators to enjoy.

The first away trip to play Staffordshire saw a similar turn of events as once again they did not struggle to get a score on the board, leaving Lichfield RFC with a 44- 14 victory.

Although, Leicester had also had a similar favourable start to the campaign and asserted dominance in play that Durham had not yet been faced with.

The hosts were an experienced side selected in the main from South Leicester, Leicester Lions and Hinckley.

John Dove, Chairman of Selectors for Durham County Seniors said: “They demonstrated they were a strong side on the pitch as well as on paper.

So much so, their victory sees them play in the fianl at Twickenham on Saturday for the fifth tim in seven years of playing in the compeition.

“We are a very young squad and will have beneffited from this years competition and will add to our strength coming back next year.”

On the day, try scorers Liam Checksfield (of West Hartlepool) and Max Connon (of Blaydon RFC) lined up Josh Bragman (of DMP) for the conversions to cut the deficit to 55-14.

Throughout the Championship, Durham have welcomed new players to the team sheet and to the pitch to contribute to the sides success. In paticular, Tom Johnson is the first player in 17 years to play for the representative side from Hartlepool RFC and was also awarded his County Cap on Saturday for making five appearances.

Picture: Tom Johnson of Hartlepool RFC receiving County Cap


Players throughout the campaign also came from: West Hartlepool, Blaydon, Billingham, Harrogate, Middlesbrough, Darlington Mowden Park, South Shields Westoe and Durham City.

Alot of hard work takes place on the lead up to the County Championship that makes it possible, Durham County RFU would like to thank all the back up staff, the Chairman of Selectors and the excellent work of the Coaches, Chris Wearmouth and Andrew Baggett.

Team that faced Leicestershire:

1. Charlie Purkiss-McEndoo       Harrogate
2. Tom Larder                               Harrogate
3. Ben Parkinson                          Durham City
4. Chris Wearmouth                    Blaydon
5. Andrew Kirton                       
   Sth. Shields Westoe
6. Talite Vaioleti                           DMP
7. Anthony Jackson                      Billingham
8. Danny Dixon                             Billingham
9. Max Connon                             Blaydon
10. Andrew Baggett                    Blaydon
11. Frazer Wilson                         Blaydon
12. Peter Youll                              West Hartlepool
13. Liam Checksfield                    West Hartlepool
14. Martin Hopley                        Billingham
15. Josh Bragman                         DMP

16. Kieran Clark                            Middlesbrough
17. Chris Wood                            DMP
18. Tom Johnson                         Hartlepool
19. Martin Lonsdale                    Blaydon
20. Lewis Roxby                           Billingham
21. Conner Foley                         Middlesbrough

See more about Senior County Side

By Clarissa Murphy

DCRFU © 2015 Frontier Theme