Durham County U20s head to Twickenham for Championship Final

Durham County U20s head to Twickenham for Championship Final


Durham County U20s are set to travel to England’s home of rugby for the County Championship Final.

Pictured: Durham U20s following semi final win over Kent


Twickenham welcome Durham County U20s and Yorkshire U20s tomorrow in the Jason Leonard U20 County Championship Final.

In order to make their way to Twickenham, Durham have had some long journeys including the semi final which saw them play Kent at Cranbrook RUFC winning 28-18.

Yorkshire have come up against Durham during the group stages of the competition seeing the wearsiders grasp a 15-12 victory.

However, on the home soil of rugby it will be all to fight for as both sides will be looking to lift the trophy at Twickenham.

Head Coach of Durham County U20s, Sean Wiles said: “I could not be prouder of our squad of players.

“It was especially good to make such long away trips for the quarter and semi finals and return with two wins.”

The U20s team is made up of players from numerous clubs across the County including: Durham University, Blaydon RFC, Hartbury College, Darlington Mowden Park, Leeds Beckett University, Durham City, Gateshead College, Billingham RFC, Middlesbrough RFC and Hartlepool RFC.

Chairman of the Durham County U20s, Bill Lynch said: “This year has seen outstanding achievements for our team.

“Not only have we reached the final of the Cup this year after having only been promoted from the Shields competition, but we are so pleased to have five of our squad selected for the North U20s.

“It is phenomenal to see such great accomplishments as a County and players opening routes for potential to play for England.”


Durham County U20s selected to travel to Twickenham are:


Jonathan Edes Durham University 1
Jack Beckwith Blaydon RFC 2
Elliott Beattie Hartbury College 3
Alex Charlton Blaydon RFC 4
Sam Lorimer DMP 5
Sean Richardson Durham University 6
Alex Dunne DMP 7
Lewis Roxby Leeds Beckett University 8
Ollie Green Durham University 9
Ben Scher Durham University 10
Jack Hedley Durham University 11
Tom Lawson DMP 12
James Cooney (Capt.) Blaydon RFC 13
Garry Izomor Durham City RFC 14
Ryan Foreman Blaydon 15
Aaron Stephenson Gateshead College 16
Mikey Serino Billingham RFC 17
Kieran Clark Middlesbrough RFC 18
Ben Walton Billingham RFC 19
Matt Charlton Blaydon 20
Miles Rawstron-Rudd Durham University 21
Lewis Wilson Hartlepool RFC 22

Callum Burke and Paddy Dolaghan will travel with Durham U20s as reserves.


Durham U20 Management/Coaching Staff


Bill Lynch – Chairman

Stuart Langthorne – Team Manager

Sean Wiles – Head Coach

Richard Thirkell – Forwards Coach

Jeff Lamb – Backs Coach

Lolly Pearse – Physiotherapist

Cheryl Gartland – Physiotherapist

Billy Hunter – Kit Man


The game will kick off at Twickenham at 5pm and can be live streamed at www.englandrugby.com

Lynch added: “It is ground for a great game as shown by the score the last time we met and it appears that a large number of supporters will travel to Twickenham to cheer the team on.”


By Clarissa Murphy

Upcoming Events

  • April 22, 2018
    • U16s Age Grade Plate Final1:00 pmThis is the play on or before date for the U16s age grade Plate final.
    • U16s Age Grade Cup Finals2:00 pmThis is the play on or play before date for the U16s Age Grade Cup Final which will see the winner of the U16s Cup crowned.
DCRFU © 2015 Frontier Theme