Rugby at grass roots level is totally reliant on volunteers putting in hours of unpaid work which often seems as if it goes unnoticed. It doesn’t!. The reason why people volunteer is usually to make a difference and for personal enjoyment. Rugby can offer the opportunity of both in abundance.

There is always things to be done and like the game itself there is room for all skills and abilities. You don’t have to have played the game to play your part.

As with any responsible organisation these days there will be some checks if you will be dealing with under 18 year olds but don’t let this put you off, be reassured by it.

So why not get involved – call your local rugby club today!

The value of some of the volunteers has been recognised within Durham County with the following awards

Value the Volunteer

Outstanding Service.

1998  J.M.Bland           50 Caps Durham County XV

1999  W.M. Bowden,   Hartlepool Rovers 25 years Team Doctor Durham County XV.

2008   D.Murray.           Blaydon RFC 50 years Service. County Committee.

2009   E.R.Wood,         Durham Univ. 35 Years Service. Coaching, Club, County &amp Univ.

Zurich England Rugby Unsung Hero.

2001-2002   C McLoughlin.    Hon Sec Durham County RFU

Durham County RFU Member of the Year

(Awarded to a member of the Rugby Community in Durham County for outstanding services in the preceding year)

2007 Neil Roseberry Seaham RFC
2008 Andy Kyle Sunderland RFC
2009 Tony Howe Durham City RFC
2010 Terry Wison Stockton RFC RFC
2011 Chris McLoughlin Past President & Hon Secretary
2012 John Dove West Hartlepool TDSOB RFC
2013* Charles Thorburn Ryton RFC
2013* Harry Buxton Stockton RFC

*In 2013 there were 2 very deserving members so 2 awards were presented

RFU Presidential Value the Volunteer Awards

(The RFU President annually invites a Valued Volunteer, who must not have served on the County Committee, to be his guest at an International match at Twickenham)

Year Recipient Club RFU President
2002 Gordon Jude Ryton Roy Manock
2003 Dave Gardner Darlington Derek Morgan
2004 Ray Attle Chester le Street Robert Horner
2005 Dave Turner Horden Malcolm Phillips
2006 David Bramley West Hartlepool TDSOB Leroy Angel
2007 Les Smith West Hartlepool Bob Rogers
2008 Ian Fletcher Hartlepool BBOB Bob. Taylor
2009 Mick Woodley Durham City Brian Williams
2010 Stuart Darby Durham County XV John Owen
2011 Peter Gallone Bishop Auckland RFC Richard Appleby